Commissions/Compositions

Quatuor n°1

I composed this piece for the Discorde String Quartet in 2016 planning to record it on Hopper's Tales double album. I decided to avoid obvious ways to draw the harmony, as reflected this rain effect of the first movement, which, by this cloud of sound, evolve throught the music and suggest whith a more subtle manner cadenzas following the cello theme.

You can listen this piece on the album Hopper's Tales by P4ctet & Quatuor Discorde (Label Puzzle/Inouïe Distributions)

Sample


Trompe L'Oeil

Trompe l'oeil was commissioned by the talented saxophone quartet Niobe. All four from Paris Conservatoire, they already have an impressive path and got several prizes in internationals contest around the world such as the well knowed Osaka International Chamber Music Competition.

For this particular piece, I wanted to create sonic illusions with rythm, pitch and harmony. Each movement is an example of this wish. Knowing that the four musicians of the quartet were used to improvisation and contemporary language, I wanted to keep a strong part for leting them express themselves freely and use a panel of different saxophone techniques.

The piece obtained a special mention at the final recital of the quatuor in Paris conservatoire in 2017.

Sample


What's New?

I arranged this beautiful standard by Bob Haggart for the JFC Big Band in Lille, in 2017. For this arrangement, I focus a lot on how create a new sound trying to modify the less possible the deep architecture of the song. I was looking of new way of suggesting harmony, inspired by the way the great Bob Brookmeyer and Gil Evans way of writing.

Sample

Commandes/Compositions

Quatuor n°1

J'ai composé cette pièce pour le quatuor Discorde en 2016 en vue de l'enregistrer sur l'album Hopper's Tales. J'ai décidé d'éviter les façons évidentes de dessiner l'harmonie, d'où l'effet pluie du premier mouvement, qui, par ce nuage de notes qui évolue au fil de la musique, suggère de manière plus subtile des cadences en suivant le thème de cello.

Cette pièce est écoutable sur l'album Hopper's Tales par P4ctet & Quatuor Discorde (Label Puzzle/Inouïe Distributions)

Extrait de la Partition


Trompe L'Oeil

Trompe l'Oeil est une commande du talentueux quatuor de saxophone Niobe. Tous les quatre fraîchement diplômés du conservatoire supérieur de Paris, ils présentent déjà un impressionnant parcours et ont été récompensés dans de nombreux concours internationaux comme le prestigieux Osaka International Chamber Music Competition.

Pour cette pièce, j'avais dans l'idée de créer des illusions sonores qui s'exprimeraient à travers le rythme, le diapason et l'harmonie. Chaque mouvement est une représentation de cette idée. Connaissant leur capacité à improviser et à jongler avec les techniques étendues de leur instrument, j'ai souhaité leur laisser un espace important pour qu?ils s'exprimer de manière plus libre et utilisent une palette de sons plus large.

La pièce a obtenu une mention spéciale lors de leur récital final de musique de chambre au conservatoire de Paris en 2017.

Extrait de la Partition


What's New ?

J'ai arrangé ce merveilleux standard de Bob Haggart pour le JFC Big-Band à Lille en 2017. Pour cet arrangement, je me suis concentré sur comment créer un nouveau son en essayant de modifier le moins possible l'architecture du morceau original. J'ai cherché de nouvelles manières de suggérer l'harmonie, inspiré par la manière d'écrire des grands Bob Brookmeyer et Gil Evans.

Extrait de la Partition